Reika’s Notes for Chapter 6 of ‘The hero suddenly proposed to me, but . . .’

I liked chapter 6 a lot since there was a lot of sexual tension between Greed and Aria. She was even tempted to let him kiss her. There’s also the introduction of a new character, Alfred the prince with the “Edward Cullen style stalker superpower” Ninja skill. I kinda like the guy.

Typesetting

Typesetting

My typesetting skills are still newbie level. There are a lot of things I have to think about when it comes to typesetting. If you want to know a little bit about it, take a look at the image above. On the left is the original panel in Japanese, and the other two are edited panels. I wasn’t sure which one to use but I finally decided to use the middle one.

In scanlation, you are supposed to translate that sound effect but my translator didn’t include it and even if he did, I don’t really have the skill or patience to add sound effects. That’s why I just left it as is.

Editing and Proofreading

Generally, when scanlation groups talk about editing they mean image editing but I myself tend to spend more time editing the text. The translations I receive sometimes need editing and they always need proofreading since typos and such are very common.

When I say “editing,” I mean stuff like correcting grammar, word choice, or just making the text flow better. It’s also better (IMO) to make the sentences sound more like native English and not transliterate text.

For example:

“I interrupted him from coming here” is what I got from the translator but I changed it to “I stopped him from coming here.”

I think it sounds better, right? Sadly, now that I finished the chapter, I can still find quite a lot of text that I could have improved but it’s already been a month since the last release so I didn’t want to spend even more time perfecting things. Oh well, perhaps when the project is finished I can spend some time improving everything.

Redrawing

The real problem I have with typesetting isn’t merely the placing of the text onto the page; it’s everything I have to do before I place the text, aka redrawing. Let me give you an example.

the original panel

This is the original panel, with the Japanese text.

The original panel had a transparent speech balloon by the side of Greed’s face. It’s a pretty effect but this type of thing is a HUGE pain for scanlators.

whited out

The text balloon can just be whited out, like this.

When I am feeling lazy, this is what I do: I don’t bother redrawing and just white out the balloon background. I mean, it doesn’t look that bad, does it? Hehehe.

panel redrawn

The hardest thing to do is to redraw the image, like this.

But the right and proper thing to do is to take the time and redraw it. With my crappy skills, this took a million years!

scanlation cleaning and redrawing

Scanlation example: cleaning and redrawing

To be honest, I only bother with redrawing if it’s a romantic moment, such as the ones above. If it’s just regular dialogue, forget it!

no redraw

No redraw version

If I were to opt out of redrawing then a simple whiteout can be done. See example above. I think we can all agree that redraws are much better. However, at this point it’s a matter of deadlines. If I take even longer than one month to complete a chapter then finishing this project will take forever. I just prefer to finish chapters sooner even if it’s not as good as I would have liked.

Thank you for reading and sorry for talking on and on… There’s no one in real life I can talk to about scanlation so I felt like writing this. 🙂 Please leave a comment and let me know what you think.

8 comments

  1. Love this manga thanks for the chapter :D, if you want it, I can help with the redraw

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I will let you when I need help. I have already started on the next chapter and it’s halfway done so no need this time.

      Like

  2. Not sure what version of photoshop you’re using, but autofill is a life saver!
    (Sadly, they work best with webtoons, rather than Japanese manga).

    Like

  3. Nice work, Reika. Thanks for scanlating for us ( • ̀ω•́ )✧

    Do what you feel is best 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, redrawing looks like such a pain to do. Thanks for all the hard work Reika!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. For the drawing can you not just do a cut? I mean cut out the image inside the balloon and layer and copy some toner?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If there’s nothing that needs to be drawn, then yes. Otherwise, I need to redraw the stuff like the side of Greed’s face.

      Like

  6. […] I finished the other project so “The hero suddenly proposed to me, but . . .” is the only one I have right now. Releases will be monthly but at no particular date. The next chapter will be finished on February. I have also added a progress bar on the right side. If you are interested in scanlation, I wrote some notes about chapter 6 here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

